Emily tapped her champagne flute with a fork, and the reception died down.

“When Aaron asked me to be his best man, I told him ‘Anything to not have to wear one of those hideous bridesmaid dresses.’ But it makes sense. The best man, or woman, in this case, is supposed to embarrass the groom during the toast, and he knows as well as I do that I’d be embarrassing him tonight no matter what, so two birds, one stone. Right, Aaron?

“Anyway, I remember the first time I met Stacey. We were going to a concert, and I spent the entire evening trying to figure out what was wrong with this one. Because if the past had taught me anything, it’s if a woman was dating my brother, there was something wrong with them. We had Julia, the thief. We had Crystal the racist. We had Laura, the… I don’t know what she was, but I’m surprised Aaron got out of that one without losing any body parts. I don’t know he finds them, but he does.

“So something had to be wrong with Stacey, but I spent the evening with her, and she seemed normal enough. But, hey, if they didn’t seem normal at first, my brother wouldn’t go out with them right? So I kept trying to-”

She was cut off as something slammed into her, knocking her to the floor. The air filled with shrieks and screams.

“Forgive my intrusion,” said the Japanese man who had tackled her. He had a thick accent. He was also dressed completely in black with gold trim, and had a hood and mask covering most of his face. Even as she stared at him, he drew the sword from his back, just in time to block another sword aimed at his neck.

The woman attacking him was dressed similarly, but with red trim instead of gold.

“Many blessings upon your union,” she said, immediately stepping back to defend against the counter attack. “You two make a cute couple.”

“Thanks?” Aaron said, trying to stand between Stacey and the dueling ninjas.

The two of them fought their way through the reception hall, apologizing to the guests as they went.

Emily managed to stand up again, and did her best to straighten out her tuxedo.

“Well, I think that beats anything I could say, so here’s to Aaron and Stacey!”

